I read this creed in a book called Neighbors and Wise Men by Tony Kriz:

We believe in a faith that is marked by personal transformation.
We believe in a faith that is not fueled by a self-serving agenda.
We believe in a faith that is as true in actions as in words.
We believe in a faith that happens in dialogue, not monologue.
We believe in a faith that experiences poverty for the other.
We believe in a faith that joins the marginalized.
We believe in a faith that transforms communities as well as individuals.
We believe in a faith that exists for the poor as well as the rich.

I do believe that.

What do you believe?

I believe that personal transformation leads to corporate transformation. That in order for our churches, our communities, and our nation to be transformed, we need to be personally transformed and always in the process of transformation. What do you believe?

I believe in being reformed. But one of the mantras of The Reformation was “reformed and always reforming.” I believe in always reforming. I believe most Christians have stopped reforming. I believe it means re-forming our faith. Formation. Transformation. It all goes together. What do you believe?

I believe that the way I can examine how deeply I am following Jesus is by examining my actions. What do you believe?

I believe that for too long the church has been speaking a monologue instead of dialogue. I believe hearing stories of CEO Dan Cathy from Chik-Fill-A about entering into dialogue with the gay community and CEO Jim Daly of Focus on the Family doing the same is of the utmost importance for Christians. We should all learn from their example; after all, that is the example of Jesus. What do you believe?

I believe that for a Christian, the “other” needs to be more important than the self. I struggle with this all the time, but that is part of transformation. What do you believe?

I believe that if Jesus had been incarnated into our time and culture He wouldn’t spend very much time in the church. I believe He would spend the bulk of His time talking to people who didn’t already believe in Him, with people on the street, with people on the fringe, the marginalized, with people we go out of our way to avoid. What do you believe?

I believe that those who are rich should share with those who are poor. I believe if God has blessed us with wealth we need to bless others with it. I believe that most of us (myself especially) are not generous to the degree God wants us to be. What do you believe?

I believe these things. It’s okay if you don’t. But, do you know what you do believe? Why do you believe it? Is it just in your head or do you live that belief out?

I also believe more and more that I need to be courageously vulnerable and authentic. So this is a step for me. I’m being vulnerable in putting out there some of these things I believe. Some may not agree. I might make some uncomfortable. I might make some mad. And I’m okay with that.

This is what I believe.

What do you believe?